Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Modifications and Upgrades
Click Here to Login

Old 02-18-2024, 03:43 PM   #1
CBears

Slide Floor Support While Retracted

I have a Cougar Half Ton 25mle and have yet to take my first trip with it.

I’m new to slides and they make me pretty nervous. I would never step on the floor while retracted. Mine has the couch and fridge on it and I noticed that it dips low in the middle when retracted. I also noticed that the weight on it causes it to bounce. I got to wondering about the stress this would put on the floor while traveling down the road.

I went to Menards and bought 6 cove base strips about 4 feet long or so. I took double sided tape and stuck three of them together in two groups. Since they have a lip that raises up that catches on the raised part of the floor keeping them from going under too far. I have to lift up on the floor a bit to get them under because of the dip. I’m thinking this will keep them from bouncing while going down the road.

Anyone do something similar? Is this going to cause me some sort of trouble I haven’t thought about? If not, it is a pretty cheap solution to a potential problem I think.
CBears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2024, 07:54 PM   #2
JRTJH
Site Team