Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login

Old 05-06-2019, 12:53 PM   #1
Rosendale

Need advice on tow vehicle/trailer

Is my tow vehicle a good match for my travel trailer. I have a GMC Sierra 1550, 5.3L V8, 8 speed, with enhanced towing package, axle ratio 3.42, max trailer weight 10,800, GCWR 16,700, my trailer is a Hideout 21FQWE, dry 4650, cargo 2350, hitch 514. I did the math and think it's okay, but as I'm new to this, any advice is appreciated.

GMC 1500 Sierra
Hideout 21FQWE
Rosendale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2019, 01:36 PM   #2
MarkEHansen

To be safe, you should always use the GVWR on the trailer as your numbers. For example, you say the dry weight is 4650 and the cargo capacity is 2350. That's 7000 lbs GVWR.

The tongue weight reported by the manufacturer is based on the dry weight, which is not very useful. You should figure on 12-15% of the GVWR for the trailer. That comes out to 840 lbs to 1050 lbs.

Next, have a look at the yellow payload sticker on your driver's door pillar. It will say something like "Cargo and Passengers must not exceed ... lbs".

From your payload comes all of the following (and perhaps more): People, cargo, WD hitch, trailer tongue weight, luggage, bikes, generator, etc.

Add up all the truck cargo (including trailer tongue weight and WD hitch weight) and subtract that from your payload capacity.

My guess is you'll be over your payload capacity.

There are other considerations too, like the max weight on the front and rear axles, the maximum weight on the tires, etc. Start with the numbers above and see how you feel about it.

Have you already purchased both truck and trailer? What will you do if the trailer is too heavy?

This seems like a lot of weight for a 1/2-ton truck.
Old 05-06-2019, 01:50 PM   #3
GMcKenzie

Quote: