Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Technical Corner
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2018, 12:26 PM   #1
Plwilds
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Berea
Posts: 4
Directv Satellite

I have a 2017 Premier Bullet 29RKPR that is pre wired for satellite. I just purchased a Directv Swim Satellite SWM Portable Satellite SL3S. The portable satellite came with something called a power inserter. The instructions say to connect the dish to the Power Inserter and then run a cable from this power inserter to the receiver. Do I have to do this, or can I just run the coaxial cable from the satellite to the actual outside connection on my TT?
I am a little confused on why I need the power inserter box. My hopes is that someone on this site has actually hooked this type satellite system up to their TT or can give me some pointers.
Thank you,
Patti
__________________

Plwilds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2018, 12:45 PM   #2
Harleydodge
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Kingston
Posts: 221
I'm not sure about your exact setup, but normally a power inserter is only needed if you have a particularly long cable run.
Try it without first. It should be fine. Your STB should provide enough power to operate the switches in the LNB's
__________________

__________________

2013 Raptor 310ts Toy Hauler
2017 Dodge Ram 6.7l CTD DRW Laramie Longhorn
2008 FLHTC Harley.

Harleydodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2018, 01:22 PM   #3
ChuckS
Senior Member
 
ChuckS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Mountain Home, Idaho
Posts: 449
Yes... without the power inserted your setup will not work

https://blog.solidsignal.com/tutoria...ower-inserter/
__________________


2007 GMC Classic club cab 4x4 Duramax LBZ
2014 Alpine 3010 RE. 34 foot fifth wheel
ChuckS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2018, 01:30 PM   #4
ChuckS
Senior Member
 
ChuckS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Mountain Home, Idaho
Posts: 449
If you are using an HR22 or HR24 series receiver it may provide enough power to the SWM multi switch depending upon length of cable ... use only good grade of RG6 coax
__________________


2007 GMC Classic club cab 4x4 Duramax LBZ
2014 Alpine 3010 RE. 34 foot fifth wheel
ChuckS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2018, 01:05 PM   #5
Carmen D
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 25
Hey Plwilds, curious if you got it up and running. I am working on our Pass Port today and I had a question. Is the splitter necessary if you are only hooking up to one TV? I bought a second power inserter and adapter so they will stay in the trailer all the time.

Thanks in advance,
Carmen
__________________
Carmen & Kenny D
2014 Dodge Ram 4x4 1500
2013 Keystone Pass Port Ultra Lite
Texas Hill Country
Carmen D is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
satellite

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RV is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.