Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Keystone Questions
Click Here to Login

Old 05-17-2019, 03:39 PM   #1
GeekSquadOfUn

Auto levelling newbie.

I have a question on using Lippert s Ground Control 3 on my new Cougar 5th wheel.

It's a 4 point system.

I have been using my trusted 2x8s for the last many years to level my Sabre 5th wheel from left to right. Looking at my pin box installed LevelMaster, I would know if I needed a few inches on the left for example. I would then move up or down the front landing gear to level back to front. Many sites are not level left to right...

Enter my new system. Ground Control.

Shall I still use my pieces of wood to level LH to RH, and then use Ground Control auto level button?

Would I put lots of stress on the system by not using those pieces of wood. Should I try level it a bit before using the Auto Level function?

I'm worried about breaking it, having never used such a system.
GeekSquadOfUn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2019, 03:46 PM   #2
jsb5717

The auto level system is pretty handy but isn't a fix all. There is only so much extension you can get out of the legs so if you're off too much the legs will max out their length before you are level. Since that's true you might need to get yourself closer to level left to right before engaging it. You may also need to put down some blocks under the pads on the elevated side give the legs enough room to level your rig. If your parking spot is relatively level then you'll be OK, but if you're off a few inches then a few blocks will serve you well.
Demco Recon Hitch on RAM Puck Ball
jsb5717 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2019, 04:32 PM   #3
Stircrazy

Quote:
Originally Posted by GeekSquadOfUn View Post
I have a question on using Lippert s Ground Control 3 on my new Cougar 5th wheel.

It's a 4 point system.