Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Keystone Questions
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2018, 03:00 AM   #1
HuskerNtx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Carrollton
Posts: 9
Landing Gear Fuse Location 2016 Keystone Alpine

Lights flickered when I used “Auto Level” on 2016 Keystone Alpine 3500. Thinking I may have blown a fuse as we had limited power until we hooked up to our pickup.
Any ideas on where a fuse might be for the hydraulic jacks?

Thank you!

Don
In Cold TX
__________________

HuskerNtx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2018, 05:00 AM   #2
Harleydodge
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Kingston
Posts: 221
Lights "flickering" would be fairly normal if you tried to level without being hooked to shore power and batteries were less than fully charged.
Hooking up to the truck gave your unit access to the trucks battery as well, which would have helped the situation.

I know on our rig (with auto-level function) there is no actual fuse, but there is a 12v "circuit breaker" located behind the batteries in the battery compartment.
I tripped it once, but that's another story....
That being said, once it is tripped, you would have needed to reset it manually before any hydraulics would work again.

What you describe sounds more like a low battery situation, rather than a blown fuse.
__________________

__________________

2013 Raptor 310ts Toy Hauler
2017 Dodge Ram 6.7l CTD DRW Laramie Longhorn
2008 FLHTC Harley.

Harleydodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2018, 07:08 AM   #3
Pull Toy
Senior Member
 
Pull Toy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Southeastern Connectiut
Posts: 899
^^^ +1 for Harleydodge ^^^... Your slides, and leveling jacks need full battery power to operate properly.

Your Level-up should be on a breaker, not a fuse. On my Alpine 3535, it is an auto reset type, located right next to the battery switch. If it were to trip, it is designed to reset itself when an overload conditioned is relieved.

Keep in mind, with any circuit, when the fuse blows, or breaker is open, adding extra voltage makes no difference. it is an open circuit.

Good Luck,
__________________

Pull Toy

Steve & Jan, Ava & Emma (Mini Schnauzers):
2016 F350 Lariat 4X4 Powerstroke CC/SB "PULLTOY V"
2013 Alpine 3535RE "MAGIC CARPET III"
Proud Navy Vet!
Pull Toy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2018, 07:09 AM   #4
HuskerNtx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Carrollton
Posts: 9
Ok. That does make sense. Now I’m wondering if I in fact checked all the of the breakers inside the unit. I appreciate the assistance and I will see what I can figure out. Happy New Year and Thank You!
Don
HuskerNtx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2018, 07:52 AM   #5
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 7,887
If you locate the breaker/fuse panel, all the BREAKERS are for the 110VAC side. The FUSES are for the 12VDC side. If you have a copper rectangular looking thing in one of the fuse slots, that would be an auto resetting circuit breaker.
__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2018, 08:04 AM   #6
travelin texans
Senior Member
 
travelin texans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Picacho Peak Rv Resort
Posts: 1,201
The cb you're looking for is most likely near the batteries not in the breaker/fuse panel & you won't be able to tell if it is tripped by looking. My friend had his GD Solitude jacks quit working last season & I unplugged the small plug on the back of the display & waited 15-20 seconds & plugged it back & he says they've worked without fail since, worth a shot.
__________________

Danny & Linda
Fulltime since '08
2013 Redwood 36FB (FOR SALE)
2013 Denali 3500 DRW D/A
travelin texans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2018, 08:56 AM   #7
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 7,887
Quote:
Originally Posted by travelin texans View Post
The cb you're looking for is most likely near the batteries not in the breaker/fuse panel & you won't be able to tell if it is tripped by looking. My friend had his GD Solitude jacks quit working last season & I unplugged the small plug on the back of the display & waited 15-20 seconds & plugged it back & he says they've worked without fail since, worth a shot.
Unless they have changed, GD has an in-line fuse in that fat bundle of wires going up the back corner of the front compartment..We sell them, and I have blown that fuse
__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2018, 01:11 PM   #8
HuskerNtx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Carrollton
Posts: 9
Seems as though in my haste and lack of sleep I didn’t completely switch the converter breaker to off then back on again. Upon looking in the front compartment for an extension chord, I heard a beeping noise which was alarm or indicator for the leveling panel. So as to not “void the warranty” and mess with beeping alarm, I went to the leveling panel canceled the error message and turned the leveling panel off. After disconnecting the trickle charger, the RV seems to be just fine at this time.
Thanks again for all the advise. This is all new to us and quite the adventure.
Don
HuskerNtx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 10:57 AM   #9
ChuckS
Senior Member
 
ChuckS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Mountain Home, Idaho
Posts: 472
These are the resettable circuit breakers for your hydraulic pump on your Alpine

Even though your issue was something else open battery door and see if you have a single or two in parallel. If not then you can upgrade it yourself to prevent potential issues with hydraulic pump down the road



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________


2007 GMC Classic club cab 4x4 Duramax LBZ
2014 Alpine 3010 RE. 34 foot fifth wheel
ChuckS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 07:28 PM   #10
bobbecky
Senior Member
 
bobbecky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Box Elder
Posts: 1,138
I'm pretty sure the problem could be the too small of a breaker is causing your problem, or can/will cause a problem in the future. You can eliminate the problem now by upgrading the breaker that feeds the hydraulic pump and the main 12 volt panel via the battery disconnect switch. The fix is to install an 80 amp breaker in place of the 50 amp breaker. This size is approved by Lippert and will work with the #4 copper cables that are in your rig. The photo below show our rig with the new breaker installed. I did not see a need to change the other one as it has never tripped. The breakers are available on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Bussmann-CB18...ircuit+Breaker
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	80 amp pump breaker.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	63.6 KB
ID:	15076  
__________________

__________________
Bob & Becky
2012 3402 Montana
2012 Chevy 2500HD D/A CC
bobbecky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
alpine, fuse, keystone, landing gear

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RV® is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.