Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Toy Haulers
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2017, 04:26 PM   #1
ocho
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Spicewood Tx
Posts: 199
I'm perplexed

I know..awful big word..especially after I've had a couple. Anyhoo..I've got an issue that i can't figure out. It's proly so simple I'm not seeing it. About 6 months i lost the ability to start the generator from inside. I have a 2012 raptor 300mp. However it would start at the generator. About 3 months ago i lost that ability. Here's the weird part. If i hook up a portable jumper battery to large terminals of the house battery, which starts the generator, and it'll start from either place.

I know my battery is good. It's tests spot on with a load tester. It's an optima blue top.

So today i got to thinking. Instead of having the generator hooked up to the small terminals I'd cut both positive and negative cables..put on automotive type terminal ends and hook it up to the anode posts of the battery. After all that's where i hook the jumper battery to. Didn't work. It'll prime from inside but it just clicks like the battery is low. What is going on?
__________________

ocho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 10:53 AM   #2
Racebug
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Petersburg, KY
Posts: 178
bad connection somewhere between battery and starter, or ground.
__________________

__________________

2017 Fuzion 417
2018 Ram 3500 Longhorn
Racebug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 11:39 AM   #3
PARAPTOR
Site Team
 
PARAPTOR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Western PA
Posts: 2,539
Sounds like your coach battery(s) need a boost, here try this connect your truck to the Raptor , let truck run a little and then try starting the generator preferably from the inside. If it kicks over, drive down and get a new coach battery. Do you have one or two batteries installed? Can not explain why it would not start from inside but would from outside, unless bad switch but then when jumped would start from either place
__________________
2013 RAPTOR 300MP w/Rear Patio Deck NO Folding Side Ladder
2013 Silverado 3500HD LTZ CC LB 4X4 DRW
Duramax 6.6L Turbo Diesel; Allison Trans
Reese 20K; Carlisle Radial Trail RH/HD; TPMS (12 Tires)

Veteran


PSU (GO LIONS)
PARAPTOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 05:12 PM   #4
ocho
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Spicewood Tx
Posts: 199
Then why would it start from either place with a jumper battery? If there was a bad ground or switch it wouldn't start regardless of how many batteries i had hooked up. That's what's so confusing
ocho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 05:14 PM   #5
ocho
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Spicewood Tx
Posts: 199
I leave the rv plugged in 24/7. The battery has a full charge and passes a load test. It's only when i hook up the portable jumper it'll start from either switch. Inside or outside. Ugh
ocho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 05:57 PM   #6
Jeepshots
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Central Arkansas
Posts: 221
When you say it passes a load test, how was that test conducted? I think there's still not enough "umph" from your coach battery. With the degraded coach battery, it now takes a combined battery package to provide the amps that the starter needs.
__________________
- Doug
2017 Bullet 243BHS
2014 Ram 3500 Laramie Crew Cab w/6.4L Hemi
~ In your darkest hour when the demons come, call on me brother and we will fight them together! ~
Jeepshots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 07:05 PM   #7
ctbruce
Site Team
 
ctbruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 2,495
Quote:
Originally Posted by ocho View Post
I leave the rv plugged in 24/7. The battery has a full charge and passes a load test. It's only when i hook up the portable jumper it'll start from either switch. Inside or outside. Ugh
Have you checked your battery fluid level.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk
__________________

Chip Bruce, RPh
Kansas City, MO
2016 Impact 312
2017 Silverado 3500HD SRW
ctbruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 04:22 AM   #8
bsmith0404
Senior Member
 
bsmith0404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 2,807
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctbruce View Post
Have you checked your battery fluid level.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk
I'm not sure the Optima batteries can be checked.

I'm wondering if the fact that it is a deep cycle RV type battery if the cranking amp ability isn't enough for starting the generator. The Optima Blue lists the CCA at 800 which sounds like enough, but it is different than with traditional batteries which are designed for high output for starting purposes. When you say it tests good, what is good? Maybe a dual purpose battery like the Yellow Top is the better battery for your situation. I don't know what is required to start your generator, but it sounds to me like that's where the problem is.
__________________

Brent
2013 Alpine 3500RE
2011 Silverado 3500HD DRW Duramax
U.S. Air Force Retired (25 yrs)
RV Sales Consultant
bsmith0404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 04:52 AM   #9
ocho
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Spicewood Tx
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsmith0404 View Post
I'm not sure the Optima batteries can be checked.

I'm wondering if the fact that it is a deep cycle RV type battery if the cranking amp ability isn't enough for starting the generator. The Optima Blue lists the CCA at 800 which sounds like enough, but it is different than with traditional batteries which are designed for high output for starting purposes. When you say it tests good, what is good? Maybe a dual purpose battery like the Yellow Top is the better battery for your situation. I don't know what is required to start your generator, but it sounds to me like that's where the problem is.
All good points. This is likely the culprit. The blue top IS more for long term low amp usage. I'll look into this more
ocho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 04:57 AM   #10
ocho
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Spicewood Tx
Posts: 199
When i say load tested good I'm referring to an older test i use to use. I have an older load tester the when hooked up a switch is moved and the battery is put under a load. Quickest way to see if a battery is good under load. This optima tests perfect.
__________________

ocho is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This forum is owned and operated by Social Knowledge, LLC. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company and is not affiliated with the Keystone RV Company or its related companies in any way. Keystone RV® is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.