Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Lite Weight Trailers
Click Here to Login

Old 06-04-2012, 03:39 PM   #1
NWest

Possible bent axel 2012 230 Bullet

I am new to travel trailers but seem to be plagued with issues on a new Bullet unit. My axels or wheels seem to be out of alignment (visually).I notice it usually after backing in to a parking spot. The unit pulls great with no sway but with 200 miles of towing, the tires seem to have unusual wear on them. Is there any aftermarket parts that I could purchase?
NWest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 04:08 PM   #2
mguay

It's not that common for one to be able to "See" an alignment issue. I suspect what you have noticed is the common thing known as "Axle Drag". It happens when you stop while turning. You don't have to turn sharp to notice it. If you didn't back in, in a perfectly straight line, sometimes you will notice it. It is that both axles are not in a correct tract with each other and one will appear to be bent.
This doesn't mean that you don't have an alignment issue.
You stated that the tires are wearing funny.....How many miles on them? Are they balanced? Inflation?
Old 06-04-2012, 04:40 PM   #3
Festus2
Site Team

NWest -
If you could provide a bit more detail about your tire wear, that would help. Is it on the inside? Outside? Cupped? Or?? On one or both tires?
Old 06-05-2012, 12:50 PM   #4
NWest