Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Toy Haulers
Click Here to Login

Old 02-15-2014, 08:18 AM   #1
canesfan

Generator Gas Gauge Problem - Yet Another Question

So I searched all about generator fuel gauge, gas gauge, empty, stopped working, etc and didn't find this addressed anywhere in the defective gas gauge threads.

I went out to do some stuff in the RV and noticed the gen gas gauge was reading empty when the other day it was about 1/4 full and the gen hadn't been run in between. I checked for gas on the ground and didn't find any. I decided to start the gen so I unplugged the coach, went back in and the gas gauge was now reading 1/4 full again. Weird. Gen ran fine and the gauge hardly moved. I'm not a mechanic but can fix easy things. What might cause this? A bad ground like I've read in other posts or maybe a defective gauge? What can I easily check? The coach stays plugged into a 30 amp outlet at the house all the time.

Thanks!

Edit to Add - by the way, when the gauge was reading empty the light was still on so there had to be power to it unless the light gets power different then the gauge does.
Old 02-15-2014, 03:08 PM   #2
PARAPTOR
Site Team | Emeritus

Post Weird confirmed

By your write up it appears that the fuel gauge works in all modes of operation (Battery, Generator/converter) except the shore power/converter mode. The gauge and sensing system is 12 VDC which in our rig is supplied by batteries alone or the converter/battery combination. As you stated gauge works in battery only and generator/converter modes which indicates battery, converter, wiring, gauge, grounds seem to be okay. Only difference is that AC power to the converter via the transfer switch gets its AC from shore power rather than the generator when it is running.