Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Keystone Questions
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2018, 02:22 PM   #1
swickme1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 2
Electric Outlet Problem

2017 Cougar 333MKS. Only outlets working are on the kitchen island and in the bathroom. Tried all day to figure this out. Contacted dealer - no help. Watched various utube videos. So far 1) disconnected and reconnected to RV park electric. 2) Reset all breakers. 3) Replaced GFCI in bathroom. Nothing has worked so far. It may be coincidental but these plugs stopped working yesterday when installing new TV in bedroom. Does anyone know if there is a 2nd GFCI hidden somewhere? Any suggestions welcome.
__________________

swickme1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 02:27 PM   #2
MarkS
Senior Member
 
MarkS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Golden Co
Posts: 367
Itís probably a second GFCI. I think the outlet in the basement, next to the TV cable connector is a GFCI. Also check the outlets near the kitchen sink.
__________________

__________________


Mark S.
2014 Cougar 318SAB
2015 Silverado 3500HD 6.6L Diesel 4WD CC SB
18K Pullright Hitch
MarkS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 02:43 PM   #3
swickme1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 2
Thanks Mark. No GFCI in kitchen nor is the one next to the TV cable. That's why we're so confused.
swickme1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 03:17 PM   #4
JRTJH
Site Team
 
JRTJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gaylord
Posts: 12,885
If it happened after installing a TV in the bedroom, you might try unplugging that TV, resetting the "known GFCI" and see if you have power to the rest of the outlets. You may have a short or a bad TV plug/receptical that is causing the GFCI to keep tripping as soon as you reset it. Otherwise, keep looking, there's another GFCI "somewhere".....
__________________
John



2015 F250 6.7l 4x4
2014 Cougar X Lite 27RKS
JRTJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 06:52 AM   #5
gkainz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Arvada, CO
Posts: 547
Does the GFCI really reset? If you push the TEST button, does it pop the RESET button out? Try resetting it with power off (unplug from shore power or turn the main breaker off), and then reset. Does it hold?
unplug all our 110v appliances and plug back into shore power. Does it still hold? Start plugging appliances in, one at a time and see when it pops.
I had an outlet go bad once that continually popped the GFCI - fortunately for me it was the second one I pulled out of the wall...
__________________
2010 Laredo 245RL
2007 Dodge Ram 2500 CTD 4x4
Andersen Ultimate Gooseneck mount
gkainz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 07:14 AM   #6
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 7,728
GFI plugs will NOT reset unless AC voltage is present at the feed side of the GFI plug.
__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 09:23 AM   #7
AbHDToyHauler
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 129
Did you put any "new" fasteners in when installing new tv? or same mount just new tv?
__________________
2018 GMC 3500 Duramax 6.6
2013 Fuzion 342 ToyHauler (Ours)
2011 Harley Davidson Streetglide custom (Mine)
2012 Harley Davidson TriGlide (Trike) (Hers)
AbHDToyHauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 01:23 PM   #8
shiggs68
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Pataskala
Posts: 62
When you checked the breakers, did you toggle them off and back on? They donít always just look tripped.

I assume you are a 50amp system. Therefore itís possible to lose power to one of the two legs. Check the breakers at the post and in your breaker box.

Last, a meter will help you track it down.
shiggs68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 01:27 PM   #9
MarkS
Senior Member
 
MarkS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Golden Co
Posts: 367
Did you look in the basement? I think there is a second GFI there.
__________________


Mark S.
2014 Cougar 318SAB
2015 Silverado 3500HD 6.6L Diesel 4WD CC SB
18K Pullright Hitch
MarkS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 01:54 PM   #10
notanlines
Senior Member
 
notanlines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 2,617
I especially liked the basement location idea. All our fiver's have had one in the basement.
__________________

__________________
Jim in Memphis
Wife of 46 years is Brenda
2014 F-350 6.7 Powerstroke
2017 Mobile Suites
20K Reese slider
2001 Road king w/matching Harley sidecar
notanlines is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RVģ is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.