Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Fifth Wheels
Click Here to Login

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2020, 11:42 AM   #1
Davidh1329
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Summerville
Posts: 1
Avalanche 320RS - Where's the switch?

We just purchased a "new to us" 2017 Avalanche 320RS. It is our 4th camper. It has the two round lights above the hitch mirror. Where is the switch for these lights? Not a big deal, but I did spend a little time searching. I am sure I probably touched the switch trying to look behind it.....

Been on one trip so far and really happy with this camper. Headed to the beach for a long weekend on Friday.

Thanks!

David
__________________

Davidh1329 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 01:35 PM   #2
jsb5717
Senior Member
 
jsb5717's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Milwaukie, OR
Posts: 291
In ours the switch is in the control center inside the rig. Ours has a few switches that aren't labeled but we figured out what they go to.
__________________

__________________
Jeff & Sandi (and Teddy - 7lb Schnorkie)
2018 Montana High Country 305RL
2012 RAM 3500 Crew Cab 4x4 SRW
Andersen Ultimate Hitch on B&W Turnover Ball
jsb5717 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 01:46 PM   #3
rjrelander
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Chaska MN
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsb5717 View Post
In ours the switch is in the control center inside the rig. Ours has a few switches that aren't labeled but we figured out what they go to.
“In my house there's this light switch that doesn't do anything. Every so often I would flick it on and off just to check. Yesterday, I got a call from a woman in Madagascar. She said, 'Cut it out.'” ~ Steven Wright
__________________


Randi & Shirley
2017 Keystone Summerland Mini 1750RD
2012 GMC Sierra 1500
rjrelander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 03:07 PM   #4
tech740
Senior Member
 
tech740's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Hemlock
Posts: 375
My cougar had those lights. The switch was outside under the overhang on the drivers side. It was also controlled from the remote.
__________________
2019 Ram 3500 6.7 HO, Aisin Trans 3:73
Andersen Ultimate Hitch
2019 Sandpiper 379FLOK
tech740 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 03:33 PM   #5
JRTJH
Site Team
 
JRTJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gaylord
Posts: 16,770
On most of the remote systems before the In-Command came along, the remote "deactivated the switch"... So, if you turned the light on with the remote, the switch wouldn't work until you turn the light off with the remote. So, if you try the switch under the overhang and it doesn't do anything, try the remote, once the remote turns it off, the switch will work again.... Some people have reported "inadvertent switch activation" without any knowledge of the action, sort of like "butt dialing a cellphone" so you may not be aware that you ever turned the light on with the remote.

If you don't have the remote, you can do a "system reset" by disconnecting all power from the trailer and then shorting the 12VDC input on the remote receiver to ground. That will remove the "static memory" and reset the remote receiver... The receiver is usually installed in the forward curbside storage area, often on the ceiling of that space.
__________________
John



2015 F250 6.7l 4x4
2014 Cougar X Lite 27RKS
JRTJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 04:55 PM   #6
dadnjesse
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 39
My cougar had that light with the remote and the switch under the overhang, I must of turned it on with the remote and couldn't figure out how to shut if off. I disconnected the wire. I Traded it in before I figured it out.
dadnjesse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 12:13 AM   #7
John&Genny
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Colbert
Posts: 192
Although I have a 320RS, I’ve only located the switch once and never used it again. I’m not 100% certain, but I believe it’s in the battery compartment. I know it’s not somewhere that makes sense, like the control panel

Unless something has changed, the 320RS didn’t come with the “In-Command” control system. And from what I’ve read, that might not be a bad thing. Seems like the early versions of that system had some major problems.

And congrats on the 320RS! We love ours so far, no major problems, just a few minor ones here and there. Let me know if you need any help on other features of the 5th wheel.
__________________

__________________
2017 Avalanche 320RS 5'er
2008 Duramax 2500HD Diesel
Andersen Ultimate 5th Wheel hitch
John&Genny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RV® is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×