Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Modifications and Upgrades
Click Here to Login

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2020, 08:55 PM   #1
wiredgeorge
Senior Member
 
wiredgeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Mico
Posts: 1,249
testing used a/c

Picked up a used a/c. It is an older Dometic Brisk and a bit larger than the current models. It came off an Airstream that folks were rehabbing and they put a low profile unit on and told me the old one worked fine. Paid a nominal amount but would like to test it prior to hauling to the roof of my RV. Have the bottom (non ducted) control panel for the inside which came with the unit. These things have a couple wires for pos/neg and probably a ground (don't recall). Can I test the unit by just rigging an extension cord to it and tying the wires to test the thing?
__________________

__________________
wiredgeorge Mico TX
2006 F350 CC 4WD 6.0L
2002 Keystone Cougar 278
2006 GL1800 Roadsmith Trike
wiredgeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 04:43 AM   #2
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 10,272
I would think as long as you have the plenum controls then all it needs is 110VAC. Since the AC unit will have 3 wires with exposed ends you just need to figure out a SAFE way to hook them up to that extension cord.
__________________

__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 07:35 AM   #3
JRTJH
Site Team
 
JRTJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gaylord
Posts: 16,770
I cut the power cord off an old drill that burned up. I use three twist on connectors to attach it to the power leads on electrical equipment on the bench and plug it into an extension cord, then plug that into an outlet.

That 14 ga power cord will provide up to about 20 amps without any issues and the "item being tested" is properly wired without any open, ready to fail or short wires exposed.

On older A/C's with the controls on the overhead panel, there's no 12VDC needed, just the 3 wire 120 VAC circuit.
__________________
John



2015 F250 6.7l 4x4
2014 Cougar X Lite 27RKS
JRTJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 09:12 AM   #4
wiredgeorge
Senior Member
 
wiredgeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Mico
Posts: 1,249
Thanks. What I had planned to do. Understand the electrical connection and hope it works for $20. If not, I will save my pennies for a new unit.
__________________
wiredgeorge Mico TX
2006 F350 CC 4WD 6.0L
2002 Keystone Cougar 278
2006 GL1800 Roadsmith Trike
wiredgeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RV® is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×