Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Technical Corner
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2018, 07:55 AM   #1
Buck1032
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: S/E
Posts: 31
Satellite connection question.

I have recently removed the docking station to chase a water leak. When I removed the whole assembly there isnt a coax connected to the satellite hook up. We dont have not do we plan on getting a mobile satellite unit so we dont actually need it. However as I reassemble it, I got to thinking, why inst there any coax connected to it? Has anyone ran into this situation? My unit is a 2017 X-Lite Cougar 28RDB.
__________________

Buck1032 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2018, 06:25 PM   #2
bill-e
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 413
Manufacturing error. My X-Lite has the same docking station and a CBL and SAT input. I have used both so mine has the cable.
__________________

__________________
Bill


2015 Ram 1500 Ecodiesel
2015 Cougar 26RBI
bill-e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2018, 06:46 PM   #3
Buck1032
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: S/E
Posts: 31
I figured as much. I called Keystone and they were not much help. They emailed me a schematic that really doesnt help. I had asked her if my 2017 Cougar X-Lite 28RDB is suppose to have it. She couldnt answer that. As we havent planned on using a satellite yet I went ahead and put it back together. She just kept telling me to take it back to the dealer. No thanks to that. LOL
Buck1032 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2018, 07:24 PM   #4
JRTJH
Site Team
 
JRTJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gaylord
Posts: 13,062
Here's a couple of photos of what the factory does. As you can see, it's not impossible for a coax cable to get pushed into a crevice and not be connected. You might lay on your back in that "wide open space" and find the other end wrapped around something a couple feet away from where it should be. On mine, and probably on yours, those two cables are attached to a splitter behind the antenna booster switch. You might find that splitter and if there's a connection on both inputs, then that cable is routed "somewhere" in the bowels of your RV.... Anyway, here's the spaghetti as promised:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF0328.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	242.6 KB
ID:	17469   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF0309.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	293.7 KB
ID:	17470   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF0316.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	193.9 KB
ID:	17471  
__________________
John



2015 F250 6.7l 4x4
2014 Cougar X Lite 27RKS
JRTJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2018, 07:26 PM   #5
bill-e
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 413
When you do get a Tailgater or the like, you want that cable to run directly to where you have your receiver.
__________________
Bill


2015 Ram 1500 Ecodiesel
2015 Cougar 26RBI
bill-e is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
satellite

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RV® is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.