Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Lite Weight Trailers
Click Here to Login

Old 06-24-2015, 06:00 AM   #1
ellisk

Smile finally buying a 248RKS

Today, I am "pulling the trigger" and buying a 2015 model. I've been researching them for about 6 months and joining this forum was the best thing I could have done in making my final decision.

I had to buy a truck as well and settled on a 2008 Ford F250 Super Duty with a large v8 and a 4.10 rear end. It has the whole tow package. It should pull the 24 anywhere I want to go.

The 248RKS will be perfect for me and my medium-size dog. I am a 66 year old widower (3 1/2 years), retired from 43 years in public school education (art and building principal). My late wife and I used to tent camp years ago and she would have loved this new camper I'm getting. I'm not an experienced travel trailer guy though so I know they're will be large learning curve for me to face. But, I'm healthy and able to get out and see the U.S. with my best friend (my dog).

I'm at the age now where I see so many of my friends, family, and acquaintances getting ill and infirm as we all age. I want to get out and enjoy life before the same fate happens to me.

I think I've made a good choice in trailer size and model. The price was right.

My adventure begins!!!

Ellis near KC, MO
ellisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 06:59 AM   #2
rjsurfer

Great 6th post Ellis, seems like your ducks all lined up...

I hear what you say about having good health, my wife and I camp a lot but aren't full timers and we see plenty of folks with brand new campers all set to enjoy camping and they can hardly get in and out of their campers let alone hike, bike etc.. Very sad to see.

Ron W
700 watts solar
2000 watt inverter
rjsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 07:41 AM   #3
12 er