Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > General RV Issues
Click Here to Login

Old 10-15-2018, 04:25 PM   #1
BamaRam

Awning Anomoly?

Okay, I’m a rookie. Not sure what happened but I was going East on I-40 minding my own business when a Class A pulled up beside me, honked the air horn, opened the window, and yelled “AWNING!”

So I adjusted the mirror and sure enough, it was out about a foot.

I’m fairly certain it was in when I left the park and at the fuel stop. The only thing I can think of is that when I rolled it in, it had sleet and rain on it. When I got to weather above freezing, ice melted and slack allowed it to roll out.

I’ve already figured out that, in one way or another, I screwed up.

Is the ice theory viable?
BamaRam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2018, 04:38 PM   #2
ctbruce
Site Team | Emeritus

Maybe. I would think that as you rolled it in the sleet or rain would have fallen off the end. Just my opinion.

Chip Bruce, RPh
Kansas City, MO
2016 Impact 312
2017 Silverado 3500HD SRW
ctbruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2018, 04:42 PM   #3
BamaRam

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctbruce View Post
Maybe. I would think that as you rolled it in the sleet or rain would have fallen off the end. Just my opinion.
Some fell off as it rolled in, but not all of it.
Old 10-15-2018, 04:44 PM   #4
BamaRam

BTW, it’s an LCI Solara.
Old 10-15-2018, 06:45 PM   #5
sourdough
Site Team

"Theoretically" everything rolls off the front as the awning comes in. It would be very difficult for even thin ice to hang on as it is rolled over the edge. I would do some serious "researching" and investigating to see what was causing the problem; it could be something wrong with the awning retention in some fashion. Put it out, bring it in and take a trip to see what it does.
sourdough is offline   Reply With Quote