Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Toy Haulers
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2017, 01:15 PM   #1
twvette
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 81
HELP! Jensen ASA InCommand ... have older firmware to send me?

I tried upgrading my firmware as have had lots of issues with "BCM Connecting" and was simply hoping new firmware would help.

I downloaded the proper firmware update from ASA site and followed instructions. It mention needing to make sure to upgrade the DC first, then BCM, then App. So I started with the DC and it asked to reboot as expected but I noticed on startup it also automatically started updating the App which was nto expected/mentioned would happen. New DC version and App were installed and now cannot get BCM to connect. Have already tried power shutoff, bluetooth reset button on BCM board, etc. I think the BCM does not like the App new version as the manual specifically says will have communication issues if not upgraded in proper sequence. It powers on and functions well just wont talk to BCM at all now.

Anyone have any older versions of the JRVCS1 DC and App software that work together? Send BCM also please if have it. Please send me a PM if you have the firmware and/or software.

Any known ways to undo the firmware install or a hard reset to factory?

I know can get the slides, etc in manually with the board button. Any way to trigger things on like water pump manually?
__________________

__________________
- '16 Fuzion Chrome 420
- '15 RAM 3500 SRW 4x4 Aisin Crew
- '17 Maverick X3 RS
twvette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 05:07 AM   #2
xcntrk
Senior Member
 
xcntrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 252
I would recommend calling ASA tech support. I had a problem updating my system too (due to wrong code downloaded and applied - by me), and they were extremely helpful diagnosing and determining the best course of action. In my situation I had to send my DC in for RMA, but it sounds like in your case you can just reflash it back to another version - of which they'll likely supply you the code.
__________________

__________________
2015 F350 LARIET CCSB SRW PSD
2017 KEYSTONE FUZION 325


xcntrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 06:11 PM   #3
GovGeek
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: East Bay, CA
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcntrk View Post
I would recommend calling ASA tech support. I had a problem updating my system too (due to wrong code downloaded and applied - by me), and they were extremely helpful diagnosing and determining the best course of action. In my situation I had to send my DC in for RMA, but it sounds like in your case you can just reflash it back to another version - of which they'll likely supply you the code.
I second this. They are very responsive and helpful. you'll get a real person quickly. I had a panel die and it was working again with a replacement in 4-days time.
__________________
Proud Navy Dad
PowerShell by day - tinkerer by night
Thousand Trails Zone Pass members
Blogger - https://rv-therapy.com/blog/
GovGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 07:58 PM   #4
twvette
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 81
Thanks, yes I have reached out to ASA but its the weekend and they are closed and I was dead in the water. Was in the woods with no internet or hookups so a bit frustrated.

Not sure I have any faith left with these being a Bluetooth connection. Would not have purchased if I knew that was what I was counting on to have power for most stuff vs. hard wire.

Weird thing is it magically connected after about 4 hours when drove into town to post the above. It asked me for new passcode whereas it was not initially doing this so I can only assume something was downloading in the background and took a long time but there were no obvious signs of this so not really sure. It worked for about 8 hours Sat afternoon until going to bed but then the dreaded "BCM Connecting" this morning and no luck with it recovering on its own or through various resets again later today.

I did take a look at the wiring and was able to easily use jumper wire from water pump "12v In" to "12V Out" to bypass the relay and have water during today.

Will be interesting to see how this turns out for me with ASA as my hauler is 150 miles away from me now in storage as usual. Emergency weekend support would be nice but not many places have that so cant gripe much.
__________________
- '16 Fuzion Chrome 420
- '15 RAM 3500 SRW 4x4 Aisin Crew
- '17 Maverick X3 RS
twvette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 08:10 PM   #5
GovGeek
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: East Bay, CA
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by twvette View Post
Thanks, yes I have reached out to ASA but its the weekend and they are closed and I was dead in the water. Was in the woods with no internet or hookups so a bit frustrated.

Not sure I have any faith left with these being a Bluetooth connection. Would not have purchased if I knew that was what I was counting on to have power for most stuff vs. hard wire.

Weird thing is it magically connected after about 4 hours when drove into town to post the above. It asked me for new passcode whereas it was not initially doing this so I can only assume something was downloading in the background and took a long time but there were no obvious signs of this so not really sure. It worked for about 8 hours Sat afternoon until going to bed but then the dreaded "BCM Connecting" this morning and no luck with it recovering on its own or through various resets again later today.

I did take a look at the wiring and was able to easily use jumper wire from water pump "12v In" to "12V Out" to bypass the relay and have water during today.

Will be interesting to see how this turns out for me with ASA as my hauler is 150 miles away from me now in storage as usual. Emergency weekend support would be nice but not many places have that so cant gripe much.
Yikes, you have my sympathy... these are great when they work, but highly frustrating when they don't. I only have AP-V4.3.27, and CM-V5.2.05 from when I upgraded from stock to remedy Hot Water Heater disconnection issues.
__________________
Proud Navy Dad
PowerShell by day - tinkerer by night
Thousand Trails Zone Pass members
Blogger - https://rv-therapy.com/blog/
GovGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 03:10 AM   #6
xcntrk
Senior Member
 
xcntrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by GovGeek View Post
I only have AP-V4.3.27, and CM-V5.2.05
I looked back at my cache, same versions here. I updated mine last back in fall of 2016, so that's been the stable version for some time now. You sure you put the right SW on the correct In-Command system? There are 3 different versions of the system now, each has unique SW.
__________________
2015 F350 LARIET CCSB SRW PSD
2017 KEYSTONE FUZION 325


xcntrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 12:52 PM   #7
twvette
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 81
Spoke with ASA. Indeed super helpful and worth the long hold time (probably because its Monday and got passed from level1 to expert tech).

Its almost certainly not a software version mismatch problem for me. The User Manual is old and now the DC software will update the App software as part of its reboot if it is seen during the reboot. I had all three software updates on my USB stick so I it was there, but it might also be embedded in the DC software ... I did not ask for clarification on this as does not really matter.

Luckily took lots of pics before I put hauler in storage of software screens, board, etc. They are suspecting a problem with the my bluetooth antenna. Mine is showing signal of -92 to -94db in the setup menu which is not good and right at the breaking point to establish communications so also matches my symptoms have had since day 1. Should be more like -70db. Could be antenna disconnected/poor connection on board, BCM mounted to metal plate/metal between board and DC panel blocking signal, power cable to DC not fully seated, or similar. Recommended I try moving the antenna on the board around a little to see if seated in connector ok and if moving its location helps. It is located at the upper left corner of the board where an the installation screw is. Apparently there are apps can use to get bluetooth signal from a separate device to also further narrow down if BCM or DC issue so I will look into this also. Will pop the bezel off the DC and check power connections, etc. for anything abnormal. I am almost certain I got a "Dont care Friday" or "Hung over Monday" version Fuzion as have had so many things missing and disconnected its unreal and would not be surprised if same on this issue.

Looked at my BCM pics and appears mine is either broken off at the connector or it is wrapped over the edge and tucked behind the board which is likely not good either. My pic is not that great ... not zoomed in

So, current conclusion is I basically have enough signal to see the BCM via BT but it is too weak to connect to reliably. Makes further sense as when scanning for BCM in Setup menu sometimes it found it fast and other times took a minute or so.

In my Fuzion 420 the DC is mounted just as come in main door within a cabinet. The BCM is less than 10ft away direct shot and not mounted to metal (BCM is mounted to particle board basement wall) so we don't think placement is an issue but he was very curious which model I had and said if not implemented correctly has seen issues with BT signal strength.

Tech said my problem is not common and I could tell was shooting me straight based on some other info he gave me. He said most BCM connecting issues are related to it jumping to another BT identification number or similar but in these cases the blue light on board would remain on vs. being off like I have.

I also inquired about the fact that it loses connection much more using phone app. He has not had reports of this frequently but with a weak signal could see how this could only compound problems even though phone app is connecting to the DC instead of BCM.

If I can get connected again I will update the BCM firmware but confirmed there are no improvements for any "BCM Connecting" issues so it would just be a formality for me.

They are going to take care of me one way or another. However, they do require a dealer be involved so will have to take it in unless its a simple antenna issue I can find.

Will go do some more investigating later this week/weekend.

Anyone have access to theirs and could post a couple somewhat zoomed in pics of how their BT antenna looks on the BCM board (upper left corner next to mounting screw)? ... I cant really see mine in pic I have and even tech was a little uncertain exactly what it normally looks like and also trying to get me a pic. What db signal strength are you seeing?
__________________
- '16 Fuzion Chrome 420
- '15 RAM 3500 SRW 4x4 Aisin Crew
- '17 Maverick X3 RS
twvette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2017, 08:09 AM   #8
twvette
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 81
Anyone have access to theirs and could post a couple somewhat zoomed in pics of how their BT antenna looks on the BCM board (upper left corner next to mounting screw)?
__________________
- '16 Fuzion Chrome 420
- '15 RAM 3500 SRW 4x4 Aisin Crew
- '17 Maverick X3 RS
twvette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2017, 09:14 AM   #9
GovGeek
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: East Bay, CA
Posts: 28
Unfortunately I don't have real good pics of the BCM, but I think you can just barely see the bottom of the metal antennae. But I did take the panel apart when mine died and you can see it's BT antennae on the left side, which would be the right side when mounted to a wall.

Sent from my pocket computer
__________________
Proud Navy Dad
PowerShell by day - tinkerer by night
Thousand Trails Zone Pass members
Blogger - https://rv-therapy.com/blog/
GovGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2017, 11:28 AM   #10
twvette
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 81
Thanks!

I was able to do some photo editing on a pic I had and almost certain now can see mine tucked up behind board. ASA is not sure that is really a bad thing so I am feeling less confident moving it will help much. They also just sent me pic where it should be.

Gonna make the trip up to my storage location to try a few things to see if can get good signal BT strength. If not, its going to the dealership.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bluetooth antenna.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	356.6 KB
ID:	13694   Click image for larger version

Name:	bluetooth antenna_ASA.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	105.6 KB
ID:	13695  
__________________

__________________
- '16 Fuzion Chrome 420
- '15 RAM 3500 SRW 4x4 Aisin Crew
- '17 Maverick X3 RS
twvette is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
jensen

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This forum is owned and operated by Social Knowledge, LLC. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company and is not affiliated with the Keystone RV Company or its related companies in any way. Keystone RV® is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.