Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Fifth Wheels
Click Here to Login

Old 08-07-2015, 08:43 PM   #1
Kojak

Blocks Underneath Front Stabilizers on Fifth Wheeler

I have a question regarding setting up your fifth wheel on a campsite that has a driveway that I have to back into at an upward angle. Now with my old travel trailer I was able to set blocks underneath the front jack. It did sit up pretty high but not to the point where I felt uncomfortable. Not sure at how much of an angle it is so please don't throw math questions at me.
Is it safe to throw a couple blocks underneath the two front stabilizers? Will I even be able to unhitch the fifth wheel if the truck and trailer are not positioned at the same angle? I am new to fifth wheelers so please be gentle.
Kojak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2015, 04:10 AM   #2
Pull Toy

There is no reason not to use blocks under your landing gear.

But first and foremost, if your parking on an inclined site, chock your trailer wheels. You then will want to jack up the front enough to disconnect your truck, and move it, prior to leveling the camper.

Pull Toy

Steve & Jan, Ava & Emma (Mini Schnauzers):
2016 F350 Lariat 4X4 Powerstroke CC/SB "PULLTOY V"
2013 Alpine 3535RE "MAGIC CARPET IV"
Proud Navy Vet!
Pull Toy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2015, 04:37 AM   #3
SteveC7010

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kojak View Post
I have a question regarding setting up your fifth wheel on a campsite that has a driveway that I have to back into at an upward angle. Now with my old travel trailer I was able to set blocks underneath the front jack. It did sit up pretty high but not to the point where I felt uncomfortable. Not sure at how much of an angle it is so please don't throw math questions at me.