Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Keystone Questions
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-10-2018, 11:37 AM   #1
Dave Gamble
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Grove City OH
Posts: 5
Prewired backup camera - no power to camera

I just picked up a 2019 Cougar 26RBS and it came with a prewired mount for a Vision 2 camera. I installed the camera and made sure the power connection was good and tight, but the camera isn't getting any power. If I take the camera and connect it to the power plug on the monitor, it works fine.

It seems like the power line installed at the factory isn't working. I don't know which pin of the 7 pin connector they used, so I can't test for power. All trailer lights, including reverse, all work.

Am I missing something?
__________________

Dave Gamble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 12:55 PM   #2
Ddubya
Senior Member
 
Ddubya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Sherman
Posts: 252
Most rear cameras on Keystone are wired to a dedicated 12V line which makes them on all the time. I would check the wires for 12VDC first. What some do is wire the camera to the clearance light that is above the camera mount. That way the camera is only on if the running lights are on.
__________________

__________________
2017 Alpine 3401RS,Titan Disc,Morryde SRE 4000, 2016 Ram 3500HD Laramie SRW,LWB,4X4, Aisin transmission

Ddubya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 01:02 PM   #3
JRTJH
Site Team
 
JRTJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gaylord
Posts: 13,064
In the past Keystone has wired the rear camera power to the center running light on the rear of trailers. In order to get power, the trailer has to be hitched to the tow vehicle and the lights have to be turned on.

In a few models Keystone wired a "dedicated circuit" with a fuse located on the main 12 VDC fuse panel in the power distribution center. You might open the power center and see if there is a blank fuse spot that is either unmarked or marked "camera" or some such name.

Let us know what you find as there seems to always be a "new and innovative idea" at the factory ...
__________________
John



2015 F250 6.7l 4x4
2014 Cougar X Lite 27RKS
JRTJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 01:22 PM   #4
Dave Gamble
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Grove City OH
Posts: 5
I never thought about turning the lights on - I'll bet that's it. I'm not sure that I understand the logic of it, though. Thanks for the help!
Dave Gamble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 01:24 PM   #5
Getn off
Member
 
Getn off's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Micky Town
Posts: 40
Logic is probably just the easiest (cheapest) way to get power.
Pretty sure this is ur problem. Good luck!
Troy
Getn off is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 02:23 PM   #6
smithfrh
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Jackson
Posts: 11
From what I have read the camera is wired into the running lights,hope this helps.
smithfrh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 01:24 PM   #7
flybouy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Joppa, MD
Posts: 1,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Gamble View Post
I never thought about turning the lights on - I'll bet that's it. I'm not sure that I understand the logic of it, though. Thanks for the help!
They probably didn't want to run the battery down while not being used! (the real reason is lower cost).
__________________
2012 Laredo 303 TG
2010 F250 LT SCAB long bed 4X4 6.4 Turbo Deisel
flybouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 04:14 PM   #8
02duramax
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Swansea
Posts: 1
Yup I have 2019 outback 336cg.
Mine is tapped into the running-tail lights.
02duramax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 07:39 PM   #9
Randallf
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: vancouver
Posts: 31
my 2017 sprinter u have to have the lights on for the camera to work
randy
Randallf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2018, 02:46 PM   #10
LOMBANA
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 7
What was the final outcome? Was it just that you didn't have the running lights on? Was it a fuse in the panel or was it no 12v connection and you have to run over to the center running light to tap?
__________________

LOMBANA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RV is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.