Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Lite Weight Trailers
Click Here to Login

Old 06-23-2013, 08:39 PM   #1
Steve 911

Explanation please...re: Cougar 21rbswe

I'm a total newbe and really interested in a new Cougar 21rbs or rbswe.
I have researched them online and find several obvious differences in east coast versions and west coast versions. I live in northern ca., and I like the east coast edition because of the front cap, single sink instead of double sink, shower location in the bathroom, headboard over the queen bed, and the remote for the slide, etc. I wonder how far I will have to go, east, to purchase a east coast version? Or, does anyone know if I can purchase one on the west coast?
Seems like a silly question but, why do they make two versions of the same unit? Don't they know we get cold and snow here also...lol
Any input would be greatly appreciated....
Thanks
Steve
Steve 911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 09:03 AM   #2
KanTC

Hi Steve, and welcome to the forum.

East coast models are built in Indiana, and in 2009 the west coast plant opened in Oregon.

Aside from the distinct front cap designs, and some floor plan differences (as you've already found),
the basic construction standards (for walls/floors, framework, insulation factors, etc, etc) should
be the same for both east/west coast Cougar models. Construction differences, if any, would also
have to be noted in the Cougar travel trailer literature. Cold & snow isn't a factor

WHY the floor plan & front cap differences between the 2 factories??... well... who knows?!
I don't know, and I don't recall any of our members being given that specific answer from a dealer.

Keystone provides a map for the east/west dividing line: http://www.keystonerv.com/cougar/#/floorplans