Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone RV Customer Comments > Prospective Owners' Questions
Click Here to Login

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2019, 10:34 AM   #1
ulmboys
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Stockton
Posts: 4
shore power

I'm interested in the 239MLWE Passport and I believe it's 30amp. My Electrician will hook up a outlet for me in my driveway but was asking if he is installing 30 amp 15/250 volt or 30amp straight 250 volt or 30 amp 125 volt? He also asked if the plug needs to be a twist lock or straight blades?
__________________

ulmboys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 10:59 AM   #2
flybouy
Site Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Joppa, MD
Posts: 1,720
For your outlet at home it would be a 30A 120V RV outlet with the appropriate wire size for the distance from the distribution panel.
Attached Images
 
__________________

__________________
Marshall
2012 Laredo 303 TG
2010 F250 LT Super Cab, long bed, 4X4, 6.4 Turbo Diesel
flybouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 11:28 AM   #3
ulmboys
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Stockton
Posts: 4
shore power

I meant to say 125/250 volt. Is 120volt the same as 125volt?
ulmboys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 11:34 AM   #4
xrated
Senior Member
 
xrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: "Murvil, TN
Posts: 1,566
Tell him you need a NEMA TT-30 receptacle in a weatherproof enclosure. They are sometimes called an RV 30. This receptacle is STRICTLY a 120VAC /30A type receptacle and will have three wires.....a hot, a neutral, and a ground wire. Anything other than that is INCORRECT!
__________________
2016 F350 King Ranch Crew Cab Dually Diesel 4x4
2018 Grand Design Momentum 394M
2014 Yamaha FZ09 (highly modded)
Excessive payload capacity is a wonderful thing

"If it ain't Fast....It ain't Fun"
xrated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 11:36 AM   #5
xrated
Senior Member
 
xrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: "Murvil, TN
Posts: 1,566
Quote:
Originally Posted by ulmboys View Post
I meant to say 125/250 volt. Is 120volt the same as 125volt?
See my post
__________________
2016 F350 King Ranch Crew Cab Dually Diesel 4x4
2018 Grand Design Momentum 394M
2014 Yamaha FZ09 (highly modded)
Excessive payload capacity is a wonderful thing

"If it ain't Fast....It ain't Fun"
xrated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 11:42 AM   #6
ulmboys
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Stockton
Posts: 4
shore power

He was asking since the existing wiring and circuit is 50amp can he install that so I have the option and just dogbone down to 30amp if I go with the 230mlwe passport rv? How would that go? still 120volt, straight blades or twist lock? thanks for you help!!
ulmboys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 11:47 AM   #7
flybouy
Site Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Joppa, MD
Posts: 1,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by ulmboys View Post
I meant to say 125/250 volt. Is 120volt the same as 125volt?
Simple answer is yes.
People will refer to it as 115v ac, 120v ac, or 125v ac, typically the accepted voltage of most appliances for consumer usage is 110-120 volts ac (alternating current). The purpose of the range is so the appliance is usable given how the transformer is wired from the electric supplier to deliver a single phase line. The addition of another line one of those lines witch is "out of phase" from the first creates the 220 or 240 volt ac. Your electrician should be using a "RV 30 Amp, 125 Volt, NEMA Tt-30R, 2P, 3W Power Receptacle". The 125 volt is the maximum voltage the outlet is rated for, not the nominal voltage. Hope this helps.
__________________
Marshall
2012 Laredo 303 TG
2010 F250 LT Super Cab, long bed, 4X4, 6.4 Turbo Diesel
flybouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 11:57 AM   #8
flybouy
Site Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Joppa, MD
Posts: 1,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by ulmboys View Post
He was asking since the existing wiring and circuit is 50amp can he install that so I have the option and just dogbone down to 30amp if I go with the 230mlwe passport rv? How would that go? still 120volt, straight blades or twist lock? thanks for you help!!
Thanks for the additional info. If the existing is there as a 50 amp then yes, the wise thing to do is dog bone it with a 50a to 30 a adapter for under $50 IF the existing outlet is the same configuration as the 50 amp RV plug. Not know what your existing outlet looks like, what it was previously intended for, or if it was properly wired is impossible for anyone to tell without some detailed photos. I'd recommend you stick with your electrician to confirm or correct that the outlet is appropriate.
Twist locks are typically only used on the side of the RV to disconnect the power cable from the trailer.
__________________
Marshall
2012 Laredo 303 TG
2010 F250 LT Super Cab, long bed, 4X4, 6.4 Turbo Diesel
flybouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 01:04 PM   #9
ulmboys
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Stockton
Posts: 4
Thumbs up shore power

Thanks so much. You have been so helpful. Decided to just stay safe with RV 30amp NEMA TT-30 receptacle in a weatherproof enclosure as suggested by xrated. I can now let the Electrician know what I need.
ulmboys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 02:19 PM   #10
travelin texans
Senior Member
 
travelin texans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Picacho Peak Rv Resort
Posts: 2,468
Personally if available I'd install the weather proof RV50 amp plug then dog bone to your 30 amp RV, this way when you upgrade to a bigger rv you're ready to go & not have to pay the electrician again.
__________________
Danny & Linda
Former '13 Redwood FB owner
Currently rvless!
travelin texans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 02:31 PM   #11
JRTJH
Site Team
 
JRTJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gaylord
Posts: 16,064
Quote:
Originally Posted by travelin texans View Post
Personally if available I'd install the weather proof RV50 amp plug then dog bone to your 30 amp RV, this way when you upgrade to a bigger rv you're ready to go & not have to pay the electrician again.
^^ What he said. If you already have 50 amp/240 service at the site, there's no need to "downgrade" to 30 amp, 120 service. Just install the appropriate 50 amp RV plug on the current service and use a 30 amp "dogbone" to tap off of the 50 amp plug. That way, you can provide appropriate 30 amp/120 service to your current trailer AND be ready for 50 amp 240 service, should you decide in a few years, to upgrade to a larger RV.

Not to mention that if guests come to visit, you'll have appropriate power for either a 30 amp or a 50 amp RV at the plug.
__________________

__________________
John



2015 F250 6.7l 4x4
2014 Cougar X Lite 27RKS
JRTJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RV® is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×