Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Lite Weight Trailers
Click Here to Login

Old 07-08-2013, 01:08 PM   #1
jhomuth7

Passport 2910BH cargo door...need some ideas

This is my first time to the forums! We took delivery of our 2013 Passport 2910BH back in September, but have only used it once due to kids' sports schedules and a spring full of new baby/illness/surgery/hospitalizations. We do love it though...it's our third trailer and our biggest so far.

My question is regarding the rear cargo door, by the lower bunk, as far as being able to open it from inside the trailer. We have 5 kids, one of whom is 2 1/2. The rear door worries me with him, as he tends to get himself into trouble. His next older sibling is 4, and honestly I can see her getting curious about that door as well. While I don't think she would fall out like the 2 1/2 year old, I worry that if she does opens it even once, he will see her and realize that he can open it too. Also, the baby right now is almost a year, and pretty soon will be hot on the 2 1/2 year old's heels getting into the same trouble with that door! Either the 4 year old or 2 1/2 year old will have to sleep in that bunk, which multiplies the opportunities for someone to get into trouble with that door.

So I've been trying to come up with ways of covering that door up. I understand it's an emergency exit, so I don't want to disable the lock, or cover it permanently. I'd just like to cover it somehow (especially the handle/lock) with something temporary...kind of an out-of sight-out-of-mind thing for the younger kids. And also that I might be able to hear them messing with the cover I can get to them before they mess with the handle.

Has anyone else here had to deal with this problem, and come up with any ingenious way to solve it? Any other ideas? Thanks in advance!