Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Lite Weight Trailers
Click Here to Login

Old 08-23-2014, 06:13 AM   #1
RJ1

Need opinions: Is the 238ml too much TT for my TV

I'm a newbie to the site and TT in general, so don't be too hard on me.

I'm looking at buying a 2015 Passport 238ml in the next 6 months, but I'm a little concerned it's a bit to much for my 2005 Nissan Pathfinder. I'm mostly concerned with the length of the TT with the Pathfinder having such a short wheel base. Anyway, here are the numbers, any input would be appreciated!

2005 Pathfinder
GVWR 6000lbs
Curb weight 4400lbs
Weight of all passengers 450lbs

Tow rating 6000lbs
Tongue weight 600lbs
GCWR 11,100lbs

Trailer details: 2015 238ml
Actual base weight 3840lbs
Claimed tongue weight 495lbs
GVWR 5400lbs
Length 24'11"

Given all this info I should technically be able to tow this, but I need some advice from people with experience towing this type of TT or TV
Thanks
RJ1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2014, 06:26 AM   #2
chuckster57
Site Team

Welcome to the forums.
First off, claimed tongue weight is before battery and propane is added, so figure your going to be real close to your 600 LB limit.

The GVWR of the trailer is also approaching your limit, but there is "wiggle room". Is your hitch rated at 600/6000 as a weight bearing or weight distributing?

It's not so much "can I tow" it as much as "can I SAFELY STOP" it.

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2014, 07:01 AM   #3
kellydog98