Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Travel Trailers
Click Here to Login

Old 11-26-2019, 06:16 PM   #1
Rae97

Living in the winter

Hi all, I am new to this. I have a 2012 keystone sprinter 300kbs. It has the extreme thermal package and I live in it with my daughter. I would like to keep it hooked up to running water and sewer throughout the winter but I live in Riggins Idaho and the temperatures can drop below freezing at night and at times during the day.

Does anyone have any tips and information on how to make this work? Ive heard of heated hoses and getting skirts and such, I just want to make sure its liveable without doing any damage like bursting pipes due to them freezing
Rae97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2019, 09:17 PM   #2
travelin texans

First off the "extreme thermal package" is only a sales gimmick & not any better than any other RV in "extreme thermal" conditions.
Agree, get the heated water hose or wrap yours with heat tape & insulate it whichever you use.
Be sure to run your furnace as your RV may have a duct to the underbelly to aid in keeping water line & tanks from freezing.
Contact your local LP distributor & have them set a 100 lb tank, or larger, at your RV & have them keep it full, this will save you from getting smaller tanks filled every 4 to 5 days.
If leaving your sewer hose connected you'll want to find some way to insulate it & not leave any valves open, only drain when necessary. Be sure it has enough slope that it drains completely.
Others will chime in with things I know I've missed.
Good luck & stay warm.
Replacement undetermined
travelin texans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2019, 09:18 PM   #3
wiredgeorge

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rae97 View Post