Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Repairs & Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2018, 03:53 AM   #31
flybouy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Joppa, MD
Posts: 1,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveo57 View Post
Not sure how you could have been getting 120 volts to neutral in the RV if it was an open neutral? Maybe you were measuring to ground?
Logically he couldn't. My guess he's checking line to ground. The only thing it can be is a missing neutral. If he has voltage from line 1 & 2 and NOTHING works then it's a missing neutral. ThIs is assuming no EMS as he never answered that question. If he has a missing ground then the 110vac light and fan should work as that shouldn't be on a gfi and the ground is a safety device. We also don't know if he knows how a gfi works or how they feel when reset. I hope he updates his post when he gets resolution.
__________________

__________________
2012 Laredo 303 TG
2010 F250 LT SCAB long bed 4X4 6.4 Turbo Deisel
flybouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2018, 06:09 AM   #32
W7PSK
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Everett
Posts: 26
Fly
I was checking Line to the buss bar where the Neutral was tied to. Not sure why it measured, I do not have EMS or Surge protector on the system, but Im going to invest in one. Im not familiar with RV terminology, but I worked on Aircraft wiring for a career in the Navy. Its just the Color coding for RVs is screwy .

Not sure why I could read a voltage on the Meter going to the Buss bar off neutral, but I did. Also when I slammed the Basement door and everything coming on tell me a loose connection somewhere. Whether it be a Wire nut or a chew through.
__________________

__________________
Rick and Diane Scott
Everett, Washington
2008 Everest 322R
2011 F-350 SRW Long bed Crew Cab.
W7PSK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2018, 09:02 AM   #33
Steveo57
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Lisbon
Posts: 157
Possibly the neutral and ground are connected somewhere in there. Shouldn't be but that's the only thing I can think of.
__________________
2018 Keystone Cougar 22RBS
2018 Ford F150 XLT SC
Steveo57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2018, 03:23 PM   #34
hdrolling
Senior Member
 
hdrolling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Grays Creek, NC
Posts: 309
We were at a camping plugged into the 50 amp and the same stuff was happening, checked the inline surge protector and sure enough the camp ground 50 plug had a bad breaker. So we were getting half the power but not enough to run the A/C.

I believe this is why everyone is asking if you have an inline surge protector, they have lights on them and will tell you if the issue is coming from the shore power or not.

Even if this isn't your issue and it is rats do yourself a favor and get one, at least in the future you'll be able to take one look and know if the shore power is the issue.
__________________
2018 Chevy LTZ 3500 4X4, DRW, QC, 6.6L TD, Factory trailer prep, Andersen Aluminum hitch
2015 Raptor 332TS 38' Toyhauler, Maxxis M8008,Splendide 2100XC, Winegard RoadTrip Mission satellite dish, King sleep number bed


Retired Army, 22yrs
hdrolling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2018, 03:38 PM   #35
sourdough
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: W. Texas
Posts: 5,565
I just had an issue happen yesterday that would seem appropriate to post in this thread dealing with AC power and an EMS power module.

We had friends that had been traveling all around the Northwest returning back this way and wanted to stop and visit for a day or two. They inquired about a place to put their RV (40' Grand Design 5vr). I suggested they may want to stay at the little RV park that the city provides for free. They came in and got into the site and got ready to set up. I was there as well. A fellow came walking up and said the power was "iffy". They used an EMS but he just pulled out his meter and we began checking outlets. He had backed into the only 50A plug they had so we checked it; 120 on one hot leg not the other and only to ground...no neutral. Went to the next 30A and no power; went to the next 30A and....120 to grd on one side, the neutral side had 260VAC!!! It would have fried whoever/whatever plugged into it. I advised he leave and go to an RV park and pay for a site which he did.

These are the kinds of things "lurking" at various RV parks that may or may not have good power. I've found several places like that and it is the reason that an EMS is absolutely critical before you plug in IMO. Don't know how I went years without one but won't leave home without one now.
__________________
Danny & Susan wife of 50 years
2014 Ram 2500 6.4 4x4 CC
2014 Cougar High Country 319RLS
sourdough is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2018, 04:40 PM   #36
FlyingAroundRV
Senior Member
 
FlyingAroundRV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 203
A couple of really good posts on this thread show why you need to protect your trailer from the campgrounds. It's also important to get a water pressure regulator. I read a story somewhere that a guy with a brand new trailer hooked up at a campground and went out for the day. When he got back, the trailer was flooded because one of the plumbing connections in his trailer wasn't tight and the outside pressure was enough to blow the joint.
When we got our trailer, I intended to install an EMS and didn't get around to it until after I hooked up to a friend's home made extension cord and zapped the converter and the Blue Ray player.
FlyingAroundRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2018, 09:17 AM   #37
W7PSK
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Everett
Posts: 26
I do run a pressure regulator. I plan on a Surge EMS protector soon

With that in mind, any recommendations.
__________________
Rick and Diane Scott
Everett, Washington
2008 Everest 322R
2011 F-350 SRW Long bed Crew Cab.
W7PSK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 07:22 PM   #38
W7PSK
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Everett
Posts: 26
Took it back for no power and they couldnt find anything

I had used a meter Neutral to power (each leg) on the power cords and measured voltage. Rig checked out again ... so on a whim I bought a new power cord

Its now working.

RVs drive me nuts.
__________________
Rick and Diane Scott
Everett, Washington
2008 Everest 322R
2011 F-350 SRW Long bed Crew Cab.
W7PSK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 08:26 AM   #39
Tcarter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Hemingway
Posts: 2
Check the ground fault plug in bathroom
Tcarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 02:18 PM   #40
flybouy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Joppa, MD
Posts: 1,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by W7PSK View Post
Took it back for no power and they couldnt find anything

I had used a meter Neutral to power (each leg) on the power cords and measured voltage. Rig checked out again ... so on a whim I bought a new power cord

Its now working.

RVs drive me nuts.
My guess would be that the neutral conductor wasn't carrying the load. One strand of wire would give you a voltage with no load. I would bet that if you take the two ends of that cable that you replaced and check the resistance (ohms) from plug to end you will find the culprit, the leg with high the resistance. If you do find it, remove the plug and check again. If all good replace the plug and have a spare or better yet buy m & fm plugs and you have an extension chord.
__________________

__________________
2012 Laredo 303 TG
2010 F250 LT SCAB long bed 4X4 6.4 Turbo Deisel
flybouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RV® is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.