Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Repairs & Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Old 07-04-2023, 09:05 AM   #1
jsb5717

Trailer Brake Wiring

I'm a fairly decent backyard electrician but I'm currently confused by my trailer brake wiring. I really don't understand how it's supposed to work...unless there's something wrong in my current wiring.

When I apply the brakes the trailer responds. However...

There are 2 wires running to the trailer braking system at the wheels. When I put a continuity meter on those wires they are both common to ground and to each other. I thought they would be separate with one ground and one not until the brakes are applied and the circuit is closed by the trailer brake controller in the truck.

There are 2 wires from the trailer that are connected to the blue trailer brake wire from the truck. One wire (light blue below) shows a continuity to ground and the other (black wire) doesn't. Where do these wires go?

I've looked online for how trailer brakes are supposed to be wired and I mostly find a simple 2-wire system that works the way I think it should with hot and ground and the circuit being closed by the trailer brake controller in the truck causing the brakes in the trailer to apply. I assume that the variability of braking pressure is controlled by the controller itself and communicated by voltage to the trailer brakes.

I'm trying to inspect the trailer brake wiring to make sure all is well but finding my meter useless since all wires seem to share a commonality to ground. For now I've cut and isolated the blue brake wires to try to trace what goes where. The dark blue wire, when disconnected from the others, shows continuity to the correct pin on the umbilical cord plug. But when connected they all show continuity to ground.