Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Toy Haulers
Click Here to Login

Old 08-28-2018, 05:54 AM   #1
Highway Gypsy

Front Lift Jacks Slow To Raise And Overheating

I am new to the Keystone Forum Group and I have a question about my front jacks. I recently purchased a 2007 Raptor 3612DS. My trailer is 50 Amp. I have two concerns: I have searched on the forum and am unable to find the answers.

1) - I have trailer connected to 50 amp power source while trying to lift my jacks.
My front jacks are slow to lift the front of trailer for hookup and they get hot really quick and give out after lifting trailer an inch. I have to stop and let the motor cool off. It stops after lifting a half to one inch. I am able to hear the motor turning in the jack, but the jacks moves very little. This is my third fifth wheel and I've never had this problem.
2) - My batteries are old. It requires 2 batteries. The old batteries that came with in the trailer are Continental - "August 04 - Item TM-24, Cold CA-500, Marine CA-690, Reserve Capacity C-120.
I replaced these with new Traveler Item 24MS, MCA 1000, Reserve Capacity-135. I have moved it three times since I purchased it and have had the same issue each time. It takes at least 2 hours to lift trailer for hookup.

My questions are:
1) Did I replace these with correct size of batteries?
2) Does anyone have any idea why the electric jack motor is slow and overheating?

Changing out the batteries made no improvement in the performance of the jack motor. I thought the power from the 50 amp would be source of power for the jacks if connected but it seems to makes no difference.
Any help in answering my questions would certainly be appreciated.
Thank you!
Highway Gypsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2018, 06:55 AM   #2
MarkS