Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Fifth Wheels
Click Here to Login

Old 04-05-2016, 09:48 AM   #1
papi

Hitch help

I just got a Cougar 339 BHS. I have a 2500 Dodge Ram Megacab diesel short bed with a superglide FW hitch. I have towed a TT FOR OVER 15 years. Because I am new to this set up, I would like to hear some tips on how to hitch up and unhitch the FW.
papi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 09:04 PM   #2
Pmedic4

Hitching up your fiver

Went through the same thing 3 years ago when we got our Cougar. What's the best way, how do you do it, don'ts, and must do's. We were showed by the dealer, but still had questions and concerns. What we prefer, is to have my DW hold the hitch plate level, so it's easy to see and ensure I'm going into the pin slot - this isn't required, as I've also done it without, just makes it easier.
The trailer pin height should be about 1/4" to 1/2" lower than the hitch plate which you set with the landing gear, and go easy.

There is a difference between brands of hitches also, so you have to follow your brand's mechanism; our first was a Pullrite, and if you lined up and hit it just right, the latch snapped into place, and it was good, we upgraded our truck, and got a Curt Q16, and this hitch requires you to line it up correctly, and then pull the hitch level to latch it into place, and then you put a pin into the plate to lock it in place. There are other brands, so there may be different latches/locking mechanism too.