Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Technical Corner
Click Here to Login

Old 11-22-2019, 10:04 AM   #1
Benbill

New DISH TV Dilemma

I am new to fifth wheel RVing and I am seeking advice from my new Keystone Forum friends who have dealt with the same issues before me for advice. I have been delighted with all the great responses I have received to-date on other topics I have posted.

At the moment I am leaning towards using the DISH TV Tailgater Pro (King) Premium Satellite Antenna when we are on the road. This is my dilemma:

We think it would be great to have the benefits of tapping into our home dish TV DVR so that we can watch all of our network programs that we record, and only pay $7 per month when we are on the road. Currently we are using Comcast cable at home, but all I hear about are dissatisfied DISH TV users with their Home edition. Do any of you have any comments on your own personal experience using the DISH TV home set up as your primary live TV source and then taking it on the road?

Thank you in advance for your comments and suggestions.
Benbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 10:27 AM   #2
LHaven

Does DISH offer this service? Does it have a name? I don't even understand how it would work.

To watch stuff already recorded on your home box would require it to send the program stream on demand, either over a satellite or home Internet connection. Most DISH service is one-way, unless you're running their satellite Internet service, in which case you would hit your data cap real fast. If the home box instead used your cable service to send the data, that leaves the issue of obtaining streaming-quality Internet service at arbitrary campgrounds.
Old 11-22-2019, 01:05 PM   #3
Benbill