PDA

View Full Version : Need some help - Cougar 330RBK

SD10
01-10-2013, 03:23 PM
Greetings all, happy new year. This is my first post, so thanks for welcoming me in.

I was looking for some help with some numbers. My family and I have been camping for about five years in a Wildwood 26ft. TT. We love it, but the bottom line is the four of us (two growing kids) have just plain outgrown it and we're looking to upgrade to a fifth wheel. That being said, we've narrowed it down to a 2013 Cougar 330RBK. I've been running the numbers and wanted to see what you guys/gals had to say about it:

Here's what I got:
TRUCK: 2010 Ford F250 SRW ext cab SB with Triton V10 (with camper pkg)
-type E tires with single 3640 lb. load capacity
-combined cargo weight max: 2573 lbs. (sticker inside driver door)
-GVW: 6223 lbs.
-GVWR: 9400 lbs.
-FGAWR: 5200 lbs.
-RGAWR: 6100 lbs.
-Max loaded trailer weight: 14400 lbs. (according to Ford trailer towing guide)
-GCWR: 21000 lbs.

TRAILER: 2013 Cougar 330RBK
-Hitch (pin) weight: 1865 lbs.
-Dry weight: approx. 10000 lbs.
-GVW: 12265 lbs. (according to dealer documentation)

Our family (approx. 450 total lbs.) doesn't pack heavy when we go camping. In fact, we carry very little with the exception of some lawn chairs, clothes, food, and the required 12-pack :). That being said, my numbers are coming pretty close to the max weight limits for my truck. Can anyone help me with running the numbers to make sure I'm not making any mistakes?

Thanks a bunch.

Ken / Claudia
01-10-2013, 10:33 PM
I had a 08 f 250 cc short box 4x4 with that engine as a police truck. Put alittle over 40,000 miles on it in about 2 years. Pulled a 8000 lb boat or a 4500 lb boat. Sometimes at high speeds, over some steep long hills. I was very pleased with it. It did not lack power. I had to gas it up sometimes 2 times per work day, tank was to small and 6 to 8 mpg when pulling boats. All the SOs marine units around here buy that truck to pull their boats.