PDA

View Full Version : Nissan Titan TV

desertjack
04-24-2012, 01:46 PM
Hi
I'm a newbie here with a 2011 Nissan Titan pickup. DOes anyone here have experience using it as a TV ? Its supposed to have a 9500 lb tow capacity. What weight and size trailers does anyone else have using the TItan as its T V ? Any insights are appreciated

Thanks
Desert Jack

mic1hael
04-24-2012, 09:19 PM
Welcome desertjack, my wife and I own a 2006 nissan armada and I beleive that is the same engine you have in your titan, we had the same tow capacity also, it did ok with a 2011 passport 2650 which weighs 7500#'s loaded but we found that the GVWR was over. It might be different with the titan but I don't know that. It also depends on your wheelbase, thats why when we got a new TT we had to upgrade to a new TV. My suggestion would be to check your weights with the TV and consider where you will be towing, if it is in a mountain region you might need something different. Just my opinion but I think you could definetely get a lightweight trailer with a good Weight Distribution system and a sway bar and be OK. Hope that helps. I have a soft spot for the Nissan trucks and SUV's so I just wanted to weigh in.:wave:

109rfan
04-25-2012, 03:24 AM
Make sure you have the tow package and stay within your limits and you will be fine.

desertjack
04-25-2012, 05:41 PM
Appreciate the response. We have the tow pkg on our truck and today decided on a Hideout 26 RLS with a dry weight of only 6200 and GVW of 7700 so we are within the limits of our truck at its max tow capacity of 9500 lbs. I'm sure for mountain driving we'd like more power but Nissan doesn't offer a diesel now but if things work out as I've heard sometime in the future Nissan may farm out production of their big trucks to Dodge. Just a rumor. But if it comes true you just might find a Cummins diesel in one someday. I hope so for I get a break when buying Nissan products so in the future we might want the power of a diesel.

109rfan