PDA

View Full Version : Wi-fi antenna

campboy
04-02-2010, 09:53 AM
Many RV parks have sketchey reception, has anyone found an external antenna that will improve reception?

Ruffus
04-02-2010, 11:02 AM
Let me know if you find a good one, I need one too.:D

lonewolf
07-19-2010, 05:05 PM
I know this post is over 3 months old but you guys may want to look at this as it may help you out. Or you can just Google WiFi Antenna to get all sorts of info on building your own.
Build your own WiFi Antenna (http://www.ehow.com/how_6008990_build-wifi-antenna-receive-internet.html)

CWtheMan
07-20-2010, 06:52 PM
You can get a USB WiFi booster at Walmart. Works great with desktop or laptop.

CW

mevans0486
08-06-2010, 12:24 PM
I know this post is old but, if the question is still out there, I have a solution that has helped me out quite a bit. Now I am a network engineer, but it still is not that difficult to do. You can turn an old internet router into a Wi-Fi repeater, what it will do is connect to a Wi-Fi access point, and repeat the Wi-Fi signal locally. A routers antennas will be powered higher than a computers, so you will get more range. This will allow you connect to your access point and let the router make the connection to the main access point for internet connection. The Firmware is called DD-WRT, found at dd-wrt.com, it is compatible with many routers out there, and the web site does have a compatibility chart. This also will allow you to connect a non wireless computer to the router, via Ethernet cable, and it will still be online.

hankpage
08-06-2010, 02:00 PM