PDA

View Full Version : Questions from a soon-to-be new fifth wheel owner

broskee
09-30-2009, 11:33 AM
I'm looking at purchasing a used 2008 Keystone Raptor toy hauler (3814SS) and need to know if my chevy 2500 HD duramax (shortbed) will be able to pull it? Also, besides the hitch is there anything else I need to do to my truck to get it ready. Is there any way to get decent ball-park pricing for these, I want to make sure I'm not getting taken to the cleaners?

Any thoughts will help as I'm new to this.

Flyguy
09-30-2009, 01:46 PM
Best thing that you can do is to clean up your 2500HD and trade it for a 3500HD Dually, the gross weight of your Raptor 3814SS is 16500lbs with a pin weight of 2635lbs and that's too much for the 2500 IMO. Looks like NADA book retail will be $36400 clean and with no problems, dealers will want more than this when you are buying and give you less than this if you are trading, oh and BTW, welcome to the forum.

Festus2
09-30-2009, 02:10 PM
I have an "05 GMC 2500 Duramax and pull an '08 Cougar 27RKS with no problem but its GVW is considerably lower. However, if you are looking to buy the unit you described in your post, I wouldn't want to be pulling it with your Chev 2500 Duramax - regardless of its age. You should really be looking to buy a 3500 dually. You will be happy you did! Let us know what you have decided to do and let me join with Flyguy in welcoming you to the Forum.

broskee
09-30-2009, 02:47 PM
Hey guys, thanks for the welcome and quick response. I just looked up keystone specs and it says the GVW is arounds 12,000, am I missing something?

hankpage
09-30-2009, 03:26 PM
broskee, I don't know where you got that figure from ... it may be shipping weight with different options.

Keystones numbers are,

Shipping weight:
11,770 lbs
Carrying capacity:
3,975 lbs
Hitch weight:
2,760 lbs

At any rate the hitch weight is too high for a 2500 or maybe even a 3500 SRW. Best bet would be a dually as mentioned above.