PDA

View Full Version : Thermostat

Local150
11-09-2018, 07:49 PM
Getting ready to head to Florida in about a month. Always have had the neighbor check my house . But thinking of installing a thermostat that I can control and check from my phone. Any advice and suggestions ?

sourdough
11-09-2018, 07:55 PM
Why? I've traveled for many years and just set my thermostat and go. Never had an issue at all. There probably is something to be said for getting TOO involved in tech stuff. :angel: I do however have ADT pulse on my phone to watch our various properties....a little more important to me than trying to watch a thermostat that has (hopefully) been set. :hide:

liv42day777
11-09-2018, 07:58 PM
I have a Honeywell thermostat that's connected through my home wifi and an app on my phone. I've been using it for about 4 years and has worked great. You can change the temp, heating/cooling and also setup a maintenance schedule. We mainly use it to adjust the temperature a few hours before we get home from a long tip.

Local150
11-09-2018, 08:03 PM
I remember a friend came home a few years ago and furnace had went out and a few days of around -10 and a pipe had frozen and broke. That my friend is why I was asking

bware454
11-10-2018, 04:06 AM
We use a Honeywell as well, it has worked great and reassures us that all is well at home.
https://www.amazon.com/Honeywell-Programmable-Thermostat-RTH6580WF-Requires/dp/B00Y6M2OUC/ref=sr_1_4_acs_ac_2?s=hi&ie=UTF8&qid=1541851544&sr=1-4-acs&keywords=honeywell+thermostat

Dave W
11-10-2018, 05:05 AM
We have auto setback thermostats in our 4 zone baseboard HW heating system. As long as the batteries are fresh, they work just fine, and usually more then a year. If the batteries fail, they default to 70 degrees. If the furnace fails, well that's not going to help, auto or app controlled. I really don't see any advantage to the expense of an app on a smart phone - but then we are Luddites:eek:

SummitPond
11-10-2018, 05:16 AM