PDA

View Full Version : Exterior Switch Access Ever Cause Problems

Me.Bikes.Dogs
06-03-2011, 10:15 AM
Hi all,

I see people doing mods to disable their exterior switches (dock lights, landing gear, stabilizers, etc.) because they are concerned about troublemakers having access to these.

I've never been in a place where I was worried about that and I wonder how concerned we should all really be. Is it a myth or is it really happening?

My questions is...has anybody ever had anyone mess with their exterior switches? If so, what were the circumstances?

DocData757
06-03-2011, 10:18 AM
The only exterior switch that someone could mess with would be my rear stablizers. No one ever has. The switch for the front LG jacks and my nose docking lights on my 5vr is the compartment with my battery and its locked. No one has ever messed with anything.... yet.

Jim W
06-04-2011, 09:20 AM
I have been camping since 1965. First as a boy scout and then started with my DW in 1971. I/we have never had any issues with other campers messing with our camping items. My Wife and I started out in a tent, with all of our camping gear such as stove, food, dishes, cooler and clothes. Moved on to two different pop-up's trailers and then on two different a 5er's. In my 50 + years of camping I have never heard of anyone stealing or doing mischief to a camper or their gear.
I sure there is an exception to everything, but to me the Internet fuels stories.
Jim W.

KenBob
06-04-2011, 12:19 PM
We frequent off road riding areas where there can be several thousand people or a couple dozen. Depending on the time of year or day of the week. You can camp anywhere you can when its busy or anywhere you want when its slow. When you have a substantial amount of money invested in recreational vehicles, you want to keep them.