PDA

View Full Version : easy-grease axle

montana
05-28-2011, 09:52 AM
My Montana has easy-grease axles, so I’m getting ready for a long trip, and it is time for grease job. I haven’t gone far since the last grease job so instead of spending 2 to 3 hours greasing I decide to use the easy-grease feature. I’m a mechanic and followed the directions closely. In about 100 miles I have no breaks so I pull into a dealer; my Montana was still under warranty. They pull the hubs and find grease soaked shoes. They try to sell me a brake job for hundreds of dollars. They said never use the easy-grease feature, when I asked them what the feature is for they said it is for marine use. My reply was, “does this mean that marine use doesn’t need breaks”?
I pulled the unit back home, washed the shoes clean. 3000 miles ago and all is well. They tried to rip-off the wrong person. I hear that they routinely sell brake jobs to people that use this feature. I’m wondering if Keystone uses this feature to keep the dealers rich! There is no other use for it that I can find.
:mad: the books cleanly state the easy-grease feature is a excellent feature.

Jim W
05-28-2011, 10:24 AM
I discuss the Easy lube axles with my dealer service adviser. He stated to only pump in 2 squirts of grease with a hand operated grease gun at the beginning of the season. I asked if I could use an air operated gun since this is what I grease my truck with and he stated no he prefer the hand unit. He also stated that the bearings only needed a little bit of grease. Not a lot since this would blow out the seals if you over grease them.
He also instructed me to repack the bearings every 12,000 miles, so this will be done on a 12,000 mile schedule. I normally put about 6,000 miles a season on my trailer. So I will be repacking them every other year.
Jim W.

chuck&gail
05-28-2011, 12:50 PM