PDA

View Full Version : Holding Tank Heaters

Tom and Kelley Crawford
10-18-2010, 10:46 AM
We live in Florida and have a Cougar 327RES and camp all winter here in Florida (weekend camping, not full time) However, we would like to do some camping this winter in Georgia and NC where the temperatures will be below freezing at times. Our camper does not have holding tank heaters. What can we do to avoid problems in cold weather camping? Is it possible to add tank heaters and is it expensive? Any suggestions out there are appreciated !!!

chuckretnav
10-18-2010, 03:32 PM
Im not sure about tank heaters, I have a 327res as well. But I was a truck driver for several years and here are a couple of things I learned over the years. 1. Our loads didnt freeze no mater what the temp due to the movement of the truck. Even when we sat still the viberation of the truck just idealing kept the liquid from freezing. 2. Your underside is covered and that will afford some protection but I have heard that their isnt any extra instalation. But see if you have a sticker on the trailer talking about a polar pack on the trailer. Supposed to be good down to 0. 3. If your still worried you could carry some RV Antifreeze with you and pour it down the toliet to protect the Black tank then run some down the shower to protect one of the gray tanks and then run some down the kitchen sink to protect the other gray tank. Only thing is after you dump the tanks you have to do it again but you will be protected. Hope this helped some Happy Camping :)

Festus2
10-18-2010, 03:59 PM